PDA

View Full Version : Does your partner, husband, wife, significant other understand your uke obsession?

cyber3d
05-25-2018, 11:08 PM
Maybe this should be a poll. I'm curious because my wife is on another planet when it comes to my uke obsession.

I'm sure there is a song in there somewhere. ��

DownUpDave
05-25-2018, 11:17 PM
Maybe this should be a poll. I'm curious because my wife is on another planet when it comes to my uke obsession.

I'm sure there is a strong in there somewhere. ��

Yup, mine too. She is glad I have a healthy hobby that keeps me outta the bars and brothels but has zero interest in any of it.

Croaky Keith
05-25-2018, 11:31 PM
No problem here, I only have to please myself. ;)

robinboyd
05-25-2018, 11:34 PM
I started playing because my wife asked me to buy her a uke.

DownUpDave
05-25-2018, 11:58 PM
"Mid-Life Crisis" Whispered to friends?
I am single, but the situation is not confined to male spouses. Some of the ladies who play in our group have a husband who patiently looks after the children while Mum enjoys three hours of ukulele playing.

Good point, of the different uke jams that I attend there are more women then men. I know more than a few ladies who are as uke obsessed as us guys.

SoloRule
05-26-2018, 12:09 AM
Good point, of the different uke jams that I attend there are more women then men. I know more than a few ladies who are as uke obsessed as us guys.

It’s not nice calling me out in public :o
My husband don’t care what I buy as long as I play them. His newest obsession is he buys a drone when I buy a uke.

plunker
05-26-2018, 12:34 AM
Looking at the price of some of the drones. You must have some very nice ukes.

MopMan
05-26-2018, 01:43 AM
Nobody understands it... but that's ok. They don't have to. Playing music (and ukuleles in particular) brings me great joy. Anyone who doesn't like that can stuff it.

mountain goat
05-26-2018, 01:50 AM
I was once married to someone who didn't get it.