How precise when setting the neck to the body at the 14th fret?

ChuckBarnett

Reaction score
First build. Plan calls for setting the neck onto the body at the 14th fret. I am a skinny 2 mm long. I could sand that radiused end of the neck down a little bit more and bring that in. That would also help a problem that I found in regard to the location of the bridge plate. As it is the saddle would sit almost to the front edge of that bridge plate. I could glue additional wood at the front edge of that bridge plate. Not sure if that is the right way to do that.

I really do want to do this to the best of my ability. Yes I realize that I'm a newbie. I'm aware that I've had very little experience in woodworking and none to this point in building an instrument.. But I will take the time to do this if that's important.

I welcome your thoughts.

Attachments

• 20180528_193302.jpg
    20180528_193302.jpg
    95.3 KB · Views: 58
Get it closer.....and I'd be concerned that the bridge patch is that far back that you would almost be missing it. In most plans the bridge patch would extend in front of the bridge by about 5mm, with your saddle being about 3mm further back from the front edge of the bridge.

Heck you could even make it a 13th fret instrument, some luthiers make 13 fret guitars to straddle the qualities of a 12th and 14th fret instrument. Some ukulele's are built without a bridge patch. Unless you are planing on selling it or the type of person that look at it and it will bug them you have different options. The two important things are getting the scale length right and the neck angle.