Relative humidity and ukuleles?

Pete F

Reaction score
Hi, I've no real knowledge of scale regarding humidity and ukulele storage and use. It feels a particularly 'muggy' day here in the UK and a quick check of the BBC weather forecast suggests a relative humidity of 78%. This seems high? and it does feel quite humid today.

I had a quick play of my ukes and they do sound a little flat today, maybe it's me I don't know.

Anyway, what's your thoughts on 78% relative humidity and ukuleles, and should or do I need to take any action in the care of my ukes? They are all stored in their hard cases.

Thanks, I wait with interest ........

Solid woods tend to change shape slightly in varying humidity, as they absorb and shed moisture. In some cases, this can cause changes in setup, tone, and in the worst cases, cause the wood to crack. This is far less of a concern with laminated woods, as the cross-grain laminations tend to minimize the amount of movement-- but laminated wood ukes often have solid wood fretboards, and they can shrink in low humidity.

The RH outside is not necessarily the same as the RH in your house. For example, forced air heat takes moisture out of the air, creating a lower RH in the house; similarly, air conditioning also removes moisture from the air.

The risk of low humidity is greater than the risk of high humidity. Low humidity can lower your action and even cause cracks. High humidity may require you to adjust your setup, but is far less likely to cause damage to your uke. The loose rule is 40-60% RH, but a short time at either extreme is unlikely to have much impact.