Low G strings

Joyful Uke

Reaction score
I usually use a wound string for low G, but have a concert I think I'd like to try to use as a linear ukulele, and it didn't like either wound string that I had, (too boomy.)

What is the difference between the non-wound strings, like Aquila, Aquila red, Fremont non-wound, Living Water, and any other that I might not be thinking of.

Differences in sound? Diameter? (I will take the ukulele in somewhere if the string that would work best requires that the nut be widened, but it would be nice to find one where that wasn't the case, if possible.)

I'm not sure where I should start with my experimenting with non-wound strings.

I tend to like Living Water strings in general, but am not sure if their low G string would be the place to start. I have Martin M600s on the ukulele now, which I like a lot on this particular ukulele.

I am far from an expert on comparisons with strings (ask Booli about that1 <g>) - I just change mine occasionally and will try new ones out of recommendations or curiousity. So take that into account.

But I used to swear by the Fremonts, which I still like, but the Thomas-Infields (sp?)) are my current favorites.

I've hated every non-wound low G string I've tried on my concert-scale ukes - I have yet to find one that isn't boomy. I don't recall specifics, but a few years back a friend gave me an assortment of her rejects to try, all non-wound, and some of them were too thick to use with altering the uke. I remain eternally loyal to the Fremont Soloist!

I have nothing to add - just wanted to join and watch this thread. While I used to be a fan of wound strings, I am starting to think I want to try some non wound low G's...