Friction tuner troubles....

mailman

Knit-wit
UU VIP
Reaction score
Just got my new soprano uke with friction tuners. I've never worked with this type before. I'm having big troubles tuning this thing....

1- I haven't yet got the "feel" for these friction tuners. How in the world do you do this? Just a touch....too high. Just a touch the other way....too low. I don't seem to have the knack. Any pointers you could offer?

2- The new uke's headstock is quite thin. So much so that my electonic tuner will not grip it snugly (actually, at all). Mine is the type with the spring loaded parallel jaws. The clamp fits over the headstock without compressing the spring. Can I put some sort of shim in there to take up some room? Or would that interfere with the reading?

i'm not too sure about the tuner. friction tuners are massively sensitive in comparison to geared but i suppose new strings probably aren't gonna help much at the moment either. i'll expect it'll get better in due time with practise and the settling of the strings. no doubt someone will offer some expertise on this very soon, i'm just getting in a post before they come along ;)

1) Turn the friction tuner until the string is in the ballpark of where you want it tuned. The squeeze as opposed to turn.

2) A shim will probably not affect the tuner.

I had to sell my concert with the friction tuners. I played it 20% of the time, 80% tuning. It's nice to be traditional but not if you can't keep the thing in tune. I bought some Grover Sta-Tite frictions thinking the OEM ones were too cheap. Same problem.

Hardly ever have to tune my ukes that have geared tuners. So I'd never buy a uke with friction tuners again. Just not worth the trouble to me although I can't speak for all brands.

I'm finding that once I think I have the thing in tune, I play a couple of chords and it sounds awful.....like something's way out of tune.