PDA

View Full Version : is this a decent ukulele?

austin1
05-13-2009, 07:20 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm a total ukulele beginner with practically no musical experience (I played violin for seven years when I was a kid, and remember nothing, and all that's left of my piano days is Hey Jude), but I'm looking to get into the ukulele world. I've done my research and am looking for a concert-sized ukulele, preferably under $100. I think I want a concert because of the slight size difference over the soprano, but I think a tenor would be completely wasted on me, seeing as I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing.

Anyway, I found this lanikai concert ukulele on ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com/LANIKAL-Concert-Ukulele-Geared-Tuners-Uke-New_W0QQitemZ120414005164QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item1c093be7ac&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1 |293%3A1|294%3A50) and it seems cool, but but I'm a little bit wary of the price--it's only 37 dollars, and they usually seem to go for anything from 75-100 dollars. Is this a complete scam, or is it the real deal (and if so, is it worth getting?)

This is the other one I was looking at (https://www.moellermusiconline.com/p-9503-uke-makala-concert.aspx), but my poverty-stricken college student mind is liking the price on the other one.

Thanks very much!

HoldinCoffee
05-13-2009, 07:51 PM
For starters, the vendor has misspelled LANIKAI several times throughout the listing and the photo doesn't match the description (the description lists 18 frets and unless 6 of them are invisible, the uke in the photo only has 12). So I'm not really sure what to tell you other than RUN, QUICKLY!!

Oh and the Makala is definitely a keeper, but buy here: http://cgi.ebay.com/MAKALA-CONCERT-UKULELE-MGM-SETUP-W-AQUILAS-see-video_W0QQitemZ330329267188QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_D efaultDomain_0?hash=item4ce9289bf4&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50