String Life?

gustophersmob

Reaction score
Howdy!

I'm fairly new to the uke, having picked it up in 2015. In that time, I've played two ukes consistently for more than a year: a Bushman soprano with Aquila (?) strings and a 1950's martin concert with martin m600 fluorocarbon strings.

I come from the guitar/bass world and on my steel-string acoustic guitars I consistently get 3-4 weeks of string life (assuming regular playing) before they become dull and lifeless. On my electric bass, I get anywhere between 3-6 months, mainly depending upon the string brand.

On both of these ukuleles, with different string types, they've been going for over a year and the strings still sound good to me. Its hard to say if the sound quality has deteriorated over that time, but they seem good. I'm a little surprised that they seem to last so long, especially as I play that Martin A LOT. :)

Is this normal? What string life do you folks experience? Since they're relatively cheap, I'm thinking about changing the strings on the martin with a new set of m600's just to see if I notice an improvement.

String life depends on how and how vigorously you play. The main test for me is checking intonation and “life,” for lack of better term. If one or more of your strings tend to go out of tune or they lose brightness in sound, they’re probably wearing out.

I’ve had strings on regularly played ukes last six months or more. On my infrequently played ukes, strings can last 18months or longer.

Some folks like to change every few weeks just because they like that new car smell, or something. :D

String life depends on how and how vigorously you play. The main test for me is checking intonation and “life,” for lack of better term. If one or more of your strings tend to go out of tune or they lose brightness in sound, they’re probably wearing out.

I’ve had strings on regularly played ukes last six months or more. On my infrequently played ukes, strings can last 18months or longer.