Maxium total string tension for baritone (or other) ukuleles?

Strumaround

Reaction score
I'm experimenting with various classical guitar strings on my 19" baritone and I am no expert so am a bit confused and have a few questions.

A few people on here have suggested that using the middle four strings of classical guitar sets is the way to go. I'm just trying to ensure that I'm not going to put anything on there that is too high a tension for the uke. Somewhere else on this forum I found a post which suggested that a total tension of 46 lbs is a maximum, does that sound sensible?

I'm trying to gauge (pun intended) how to work this all out. For example, when looking at the lbs tension in string specs, does this change if applied to a ukulele (as opposed to a guitar, which they are aimed at)?

For example, I'm thinking about this set, as it has polished wound low strings. https://www.stringsbymail.com/savar...lished-basses-nt-classical-strings-17792.html

Elsewhere, people have suggested the Thomastik-Infeld wounds, which I use on my Tenor, but somehow feel a bit high tension on the baritone.

Any thoughts or suggestions welcomed.

Thanks.

Last edited:
I'm not sure on specific tensions - generally I just go with what "feels" right.

I have always found that middle 4 strings of classical guitar set will do fine for baritone DGBE tuning, without being too much tension.
Classical guitar strings all have to fall within a range of tensions that would be safe for a classical guitar. I doubt there are sets that are so much tension it would cause any damage.

Likewise, the tension that a baritone can tolerate is a range. I find that Middle classical guitar strings fit that range beautifully.
If you feel like there's too much tension, perhaps you need to look at the action (string height) of your ukulele and do a setup.

I'm not sure on specific tensions - generally I just go with what "feels" right.