Then and Now: Songs that motivate you to learn

Joyful Uke

Reaction score
At the beginning of my ukulele journey, one of the songs that inspired me to learn to fingerpick was Ken Middleton's version of The Water is Wide. Since links are hard to post these days, it's out there on YouTube for anyone who is interested.

One on my wish list right now is Brittni Paiva's version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow. I just started to work on that.

I'm still learning Jake's versions of Here, There, and Everywhere, and also In My Life. I'll never sound like he does, but I sure am having fun with those.

What are some of the songs that got you started, and what are some of the songs that keep you wanting to learn new things now?

The very 1st song I played on my 1st uke was "The Devil In The Deep Blue Sea", the George Harrison arrangement. It's still one of my favorites. I've gone on to arrange a fingerpick version.

I'm simpler, the other night I watched the video of George Harrison, Paul McCartney and Ringo doing "Ain't She Sweet" and it inspired me to learn to strum and sing it for my group's next open mic, which I haven't done before.

8 tenor cutaway ukes, 3 acoustic bass ukes, 8 solid body bass ukes, 7 mini electric bass guitars

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children's hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
• Member The CC Strummers www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/videos

As corny or cliche' as it might seem, Over the rainbow by Izzy. This was when I was a raw beginner and that em chord was a killer. But the burning desire to play and sing that song made me keep at it. Always a good life lesson, get a burn for something and you can accomplish it

Now it is John Mayers Heart of Life arranged by Corey and ya I will never sound like him either Joyful Uke

Last edited: