NUD: Rebel NEO Cedar/Maka

eyedoc

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Another amazing Uke from HMS
I saw this on the homepage and went for it.
It is amazing in sound and workmanship!

IMG_2124.jpgIMG_2127.jpgIMG_2126.jpgIMG_2125.jpgIMG_2128.jpg

That full on back shot is pure uke p*** -- as is the headstock! What gorgeous wood.
It seems that some of the new higher-end Asian imports have really upped their game!

Is this the "thin" body? Doesn't seem to be as radical as some of their designs. It's very good looking. What are the woods?

Not thin body
Cedar
Maka (Thai Rosewood)

It’s not so much the looks, but the sound is amazing. Clear, loud, balanced with lots of sustain (for a Uke, I am a classical guitarist...)
Ron

Congratulations on a beautifulmi instrument. I have been impressed with Rebel, had a chance to play one at a Uke Jam. These Neo series are espiecally nice and I fully agree with you on the tone. The sound samples on HMS of these had me reaching for my wallet.

I must've listened to that sound sample 50 times. If I wasn't swimming in too many ukes, I would have snagged it. Congrats!

Very nice uke. I've been impressed by the the rebel's, and own a alchemist, and a hog. Your's sounded great in the clips, and I was tempted, but I think it would be along the same vein as the alchemist, so I didn't go for it. Nice score!

What a pretty uke, congrats! That's only the 2nd pic of a Rebel I've ever seen, they must be rare.

It’s beauty is very simplistic.
But it is so rewarding to play... i’m surprised nobody has asked me to compare to the moon bird....

It’s beauty is very simplistic.
But it is so rewarding to play... i’m surprised nobody has asked me to compare to the moon bird....

Ok. How does it compare? :)

I never thought you’d ask !