Ohana opinions?

Iulia

Reaction score
I'm a relative newbie - only owned two half decent instruments, a hand made concert by Stuart Longridge, and a soprano by Ohana, the cedar top willow back sorry can't remember the number. In fairness to Mr Longridge, I didn't bond with it because my thing is I think sopranos.

I kept trying concerts thinking I would get why everyone wanted them more than sopranos ...

My little Ohana is an awesome little girl. On the occasion I've not been happy with something I've picked up a cheaper instrument and realised its me, not the uke ;)

I haven't seen much love for Ohana on the forum, just wondered how you all rate Ohana compared to other stuff?

Who's had them, who loves them, who doesn't??

Just curious, not the brand police :D

I have a spruce top Ohana soprano. I like it fine. It gets the job done, so I have no complaints. I have a soprano and two concert size ukuleles. All three are different brands. I can't say that I prefer one size or one brand over the other. In my day to day playing I don't notice the difference between them.

Last edited:
I've had several Ohana ukuleles over the years and have nothing but good things to say about them. I've had sopranos, concerts and tenors - all were very satisfactory. Now I only play sopranos and three of my twenty (or so) sops are Ohanas. I have SK50MG (Cedar top); SK300G (solid Koa body); SK35G (solid mahogany body).

I acquired all three between eight and ten years ago, and I wouldn't want to part with any of them.

John Colter

Two of my three ukes are Ohanas and I'm happy with them both. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another if the situation arose.

What's not to like about an Ohana soprano? Not much I reckon. Mine is their basic all mahogany model. I'd rather have friction tuners, but otherwise it's a great little instrument.