String Choices & Familiarity

PereBourik

Ukulele don't judge
UU VIP
Reaction score
Any of you gone back & forth on string choices?

When I started playing 6 years ago I developed a strong preference for flourocarbon strings, first Martin M600, then branching out to Worth, Oasis, and Living Water. I tried Aquila and a few choices in nylon strings, including the D'Addario Titanium strings. I decided I didn't like the feel and the sound.

I've recently tried nylon/titanium strings again. This time I'm using GHS Artist Curated High G on one tenor and The T2 D'Addarios on another. I think that the thicker string diameter is giving my increasingly arthritic hands a bit of a break. I don't notice a qualitative difference in sound.

I may just be bored and enjoying trying something different. But if this keeps up I'll have to have my setup optimized for the nylon strings.

I still use fluorocarbons, but I do understand that the clear bright bell sound from one set just leads to more of the same with other fluorocarbon strings. Not saying that is bad, but sometimes a different type of string can bring out a different element.

I had strings that I just couldn't find a home as they lacked that bright clarity. I also had a uke that was just too bright regardless of what strings I tried. I dug these strings out and they seemed to be what that uke needed to tone down the brightness. I thought I would never use those strings and was surprised I still had them. Can't say why they worked this time around. Maybe I was just looking for something completely different from everything else, or maybe my tastes changed a bit.

John

I used to be an all fluorocarbon all the time kind of person. I've started to find that for me, personally, there are certain strings that really fit certain instruments.