Blasphemy...not digging my UPT tuners??

Astein2006

Reaction score
OK So I own a 2015 Kamaka standard. It came with UPT tuners. I have played it a lot over the past three years and have never bonded with the tuners. They are great function wise but I never liked the look of them. They seem a bit bulky on a soprano and I can feel the weight of the headstock every time I pick it up. I've tried to look past this because they function so nicely but I'm at a point where I would really like to convert it to some really nice and LIGHT frictions tuners. Is this blasphemy?? I feel crazy for even suggesting it. The big hurdle is where to begin. Are the holes for the UPT tuners too big to put in Friction tuners? I'm not an expert in this area. How much retrofitting needs to be done? What friction tuners would you suggest? I've read good things about the Gotoh UKA deluxe and Waverlys, although I read they are also heavier which I want to avoid. Has anyone had this experience either with UPT's on a Kamaka standard or on any soprano and wanted to go back to friction tuners?

UPT holes are 10mm diameter - too large for all friction tuners. You will have to fill the holes and start again; sounds dramatic, but not hard for a good repair guy. Or you could fill, then ream for peghead tuners that are light weight yet still geared. Your average non-geared Gotoh works well too.

I wonder if the Waverly friction tuners would fit a 10mm hole?

"Waverly tuners will work properly in peg holes with diameters between 7/32" and 1/4" (5.56mm to 6.35mm)"
- from Stew Mac site

"Waverly tuners will work properly in peg holes with diameters between 7/32" and 1/4" (5.56mm to 6.35mm)"
- from Stew Mac site

I guess there's no way back without leaving evidence of plugged tuner holes once UPT tuners are in place.

I guess there's no way back without leaving evidence of plugged tuner holes once UPT tuners are in place.