Playing ukulele made me realize the meaning of songs...

Denno

Reaction score
Untill now I mostly just listen to the music. But since I started playing the ukulele I started to take notice to the lyrics to. You have to if you want to learn the song right?

So a new world opened up and I now see the meaning of songs better. Anyone else feel this way?

Maybe,, kinda

In my case it helped me to understand the lyrics better. English isn't my first language (alas...) but learning all the lyrics to my favorite songs helps me to understand everything better...

I think its the fact that you have to really learn the song very thoroughly, and with that comes a better realization of the meaning. Ukulele has done this for also btw ;]

I kind of feel that way.
When playing my other instruments, I'm a lot more conscious of playing the INSTRUMENT. When playing ukulele, I am more focused on playing the SONG, and that's a nice thing.

Depends on the song. I play a lot of tunes from the 20s-40s and many of them were cranked out by songwriting teams looking for a popular hit, not passionate artists. Even some of the greats, like Fats Waller, wrote songs where the lyrics were catchy but when studied alone, were awful as poetry.

I play pop and folk songs from the early 60s-mid 70s, too. And while there are some truly incredible songs - by people like Bob Dylan, the Beatles, James Taylor, Randy Newman, Fred Neil and others - they all produced fluff, too. Pop, catchy fluff at times, but fluff nonetheless.

A good song is a gestalt. It works as a whole, not in pieces that can be removed or dissected. American Pie and Where Do You Go To My Lovely are good examples - start to analyze the lyrics and you'll find them confusing and opaque. But as songs - they're wonderful. A lot of Bob Dylan's music is like that, too.

It really does depend on the song since it is a marriage of words and music. Not everything is deep.