Pono MGTP questions before I potentially purchase

hollymichele

Reaction score
I think I'm going to purchase a Pono MGTP. From researching, sounds like I might want to go with Worth Clears. But I'd love to hear thoughts from those who have tried different strings on their Pono MGTP. As a side note, I get that strings are cheap and easy to try out different ones, but I'm a beginner so I'm not quite up to changing out strings yet. I'm just hoping I get it right the first time when I have it set up at purchase. :)

Also, has anyone had any trouble with the mango wood warping? I live in NC, so a more humid state - but I don't have any idea about the humidity in my house when the a/c and heat are running. So I'm a bit concerned about mango because I have read it has a tendency to warp or split. I enjoy keeping my (cheap) ukulele that I have now hanging on the wall and would like to continue to do the same with whatever I purchase (vs keeping it in a case).

If you are worried about the humidity, buy a cheap hygrometer off ebay and put it in the place you are going to store your uke. It won't necessarily give a totally accurate reading, but it will at least give you some idea. If it is less than 40% for long periods of time, you can buy a humidifier. I have a mango wood uke and I have not had any problem, but I don't know what the humidity will be like where you store it. Right now, my hygrometer is reading 45% in my case, and we are in the middle of a particularly dry period.

I have had no issues with warping on mine. As for strings, I have been happy with D’Addario EJ99T carbon strings on mine. I love the Savarez 150R as well, but they are a bit pricey.

Any quality solid wood ukulele should be kep in the case with a humidification device. Unless your room is a constant 45-55% humidity level which is highly doubtful