Which output to use on a preamp?

doowopper

Reaction score
I am new to the world of amps and preamps. Today I bought a Para Acoustic D.I. preamp. I plan to use it with my acoustic Pono ukulele that has a passive pickup inside of it. I plan to connect the ukulele to the preamp and the preamp to an amplifier (a Roland Micro Cube).
1) There are two outputs on the preamp. The “Balanced XLR Output” on the preamp is described in the “User’s Guide” as being a “balanced low impedance output.” The “1/4” output” on the preamp is described in the “User’s Guide” as a “regular unbalanced output.” As a newbie to all of this stuff, could you please describe the difference between these two outputs and the differences between balanced vs. unbalanced, low impedance, etc.
2) Which of these two outputs on this preamp should I connect to my amplifier? What are the reasons for the choice?
Thanks for your time.
Richard

It depends on what you're outputting the signal to.

Basically, the nature of the output sockets gives a very good clue. If you're taking the signal to the jack input of an amplifier, or to FX boxes with jack sockets then the unbalanced jack is fine. You can also use that to some PA inputs to.

The XLR takes a microphone type plug and you'd use that to take the signal into a balanced XLR on a PA, or some acoustic amps.

Some electro acoustic guitars have both jack and XLR sockets giving the option of plugging into a standard amp input, or straight into a PA mic socket.

The balancing stuff is to do with impedance matching. Balanced XLR connections tend to perform better as far as noise rejection is concerned, and with long cables, but for most purposes the jack output is fine when just going into an amp.

If and when you ever get involved in recording good quality audio, things like balanced connections are worth exploring in a bit more depth.

Last edited:
Buddhu,