Mainland Uke Questions

griemers

Reaction score
Okay guys, I am seriously considering getting a Mainland Concert as my next uke. I've been playing an Oscar Schmidt OU-1 for almost 10 years and it is time to upgrade. I've got a few questions.

1.Is there anyone around here who has played the different wood types and finishes who can comment on the differences in tone between them-- ie. cedar vs. mahogany, matte vs. gloss, etc.

2. I've heard that these are made in the same factory as the Bushman. Is this correct, and does anyone have any info about them in regard to human rights/how they treat their employees? PLEASE -- no political discussions about whether or not I should be concerned about this-- just facts if available.

Thank you everybody!

--G.R.

Okay guys, I am seriously considering getting a Mainland Concert as my next uke. I've been playing an Oscar Schmidt OU-1 for almost 10 years and it is time to upgrade. I've got a few questions.

1.Is there anyone around here who has played the different wood types and finishes who can comment on the differences in tone between them-- ie. cedar vs. mahogany, matte vs. gloss, etc.

2. I've heard that these are made in the same factory as the Bushman. Is this correct, and does anyone have any info about them in regard to human rights/how they treat their employees? PLEASE -- no political discussions about whether or not I should be concerned about this-- just facts if available.

Thank you everybody!

--G.R.

There's a lot of mainland ukers on here but 'hoosierhiver' is the man you should look for. if you don't get the answers you require on this thread then you can find him here on the underground using that username^

I bought the Mainland gloss tenor/cedar model. My experience dealing with Mainland was very good. Mike was helpful and friendly. I can't say for sure about it being the same factory, but the products definitely have similarities in design and build.