F Chord

Bratset

Reaction score
Hi,
Picked up my old huitar last week, and I am kinda hooked :p
Complete newbie, but I am starting to get around a good deal of chords... but the F Chord!
Any tips on how I can hold the F easier? :music:

It becomes much easier with practise.

Sometimes, I use my thumb, Jimi-style. I hook my thumb over the top of the neck and use it to hold down the F note on the low-E string. But any "proper" guitarist will tell you that this is not correct.

Watch Aldrine's Barre chords video on the front page. The principle is the same on both uke and guitar.

Best wishes :)

It becomes much easier with practise.

Sometimes, I use my thumb, Jimi-style. I hook my thumb over the top of the neck and use it to hold down the F note on the low-E string. But any "proper" guitarist will tell you that this is not correct.

Watch Aldrine's Barre chords video on the front page. The principle is the same on both uke and guitar.

Best wishes

I am practising :p
Been rehearsing the chord alot
But I often tend to just start playing some fingerpicking when I get a bit fed up. :p
Starting to get the hang of Tears in Heaven :D

You might modify your hand position when playing the chord and see if that helps.

Here is a thread where I am playing the same chord configuration and you can see the position of my hands. The bottom picture is with a uke, the middle picture is guitar, but, my hand positions are the result of forty years of guitar and uke playing experience.

http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13369

You might modify your hand position when playing the chord and see if that helps.

Here is a thread where I am playing the same chord configuration and you can see the position of my hands. The bottom picture is with a uke, the middle picture is guitar, but, my hand positions are the result of forty years of guitar and uke playing experience.

http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13369