Any opinions on Abe Lagrimas's Jazz book?

mikhou

Reaction score
I don't know if this is the right place for it, but do any of you have an opinion on this book? I'm an American living and working overseas and have some family visiting soon. I'm going to have them bring a couple of uke books and am considering this one. Any thoughts?

What is the tuning for that book (high G, low G, or DGBE)? I've read different things and now I'm getting confused about what I've read.

Finally, I'm new to jazz and was wondering if I should start with Glen Rose's online jazzy ukulele first. Thanks.

mikhou

I have the book, not that I have been completely throgh it.

I am not an experienced musician in any ways, and I have not tried the Glen Rose materiale. I do remember some music theory from way back in high school though, and I had an Ukulele for a few years when I got it.
So that was my background when I got the book.

It is focused tenor or concert scale, with high or low G. It doesnt focus strictly on tabs, but alse rythms and strumming patterns. The tabs it does have are the authors own compositions, not jazz standards.

It has some music theory and exercises in strumming rythms, arpeggios, scales etc.

I have only looked into some of the chapters, I would say that it i neither useless nor the holy grail.
It is worth a try.

I Will add that since the book has quite a bit of theory etc, I think that the less you know about the theory before reading it, the more you will benefit.

As I wrote, I remembered some theory before. And I had tried to play jazz standards on my ukulele before, just looking up all the chords I needed, treating it like every other song. I was hoping for some tricks that could miracoloysly make the chords sound more jazzy the way I strummed them. Apparently there is no easy bag of tricks.