Coordination?

Kherome

Reaction score
I don't know if it's lack of experience or if I just lack coordination, but I have such trouble maintaining a strumming pattern. I'm a very beginner beginner, and my brain does not seem to like my hands doing 2 different things. If I start doing well changing chords, my strumming hand starts faltering all over the place. If I can manage to get a good strumming pattern going, my chord changes suffer.

How long does it take to improve this, or maybe I'm just not coordinated enough and it'll always be a struggle? Thanks!

That’s normal and will come with practice.

Try to simplify and train one thing at a time: practice strumming with a single chord (even c6) and no changes. Then practice chord changes with no (or incredibly simple) strumming. Add together once you’re confidant with the pieces.

Go slowly. Run a metronome (your phone probably has one) at a slow beat and change on whole notes. Then speed that up when you’ve got it.

Each chord change is a bit different. Pick a song and study its changes. Isolate and practice just the bits that give you trouble and don’t dwell on the parts you have, then put it all together.

How long it takes depends on how much practice you put in. It will get much better, I promise you, just have patience and keep going. Last week at a rehearsal of my seniors uke group, I was practicing a couple of bass riffs (I play bass uke) and one member came over to me saying, "You're getting much better, why?" I told her I practice almost everyday. She hung her head sheepishly and said, "I don't, guess that's why I'm not getting better."

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly West near the Beverly Center
9 tenor cutaway ukes, 5 acoustic bass ukes, 11 solid body bass ukes, 9 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 34)

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children in hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org