NUD: Blackbird Clara Sunburst

tjien

Reaction score
I just picked it up today from DHL, Blackbird Clara Sunburst.

I was looking for "Low Humidity Proof" Uke, that I can leave it in the car during winter time.

I narrowed down my choice on Blackbird, but could not decide between Farallon or Clara. After countless time watching comparison video from HMS, finally, I called HMS and talk with Corey two weeks ago.

As a newbie, I mostly strum, already owned Koaloha Tenor. Corey suggested Clara, but at that time there was none listed on the web site. To my surprise, actually they have one in the store but not listed on the web site. I ordered the uke that day.

The uke is very loud, with very nice tone. It sounds much louder
than other Blackbird Clara that I had a chance to test it locally. I was fortunate to be able to test two different Blackbird Clara, with High G and Low G.

Mine come with Fremont soloist low G, I will keep it for a week or two. Currently I have Oasis High G, Worth Brown, Aquila Red and Seaguar Premier fishing line that I will be testing with.

Any suggestion from current/past Clara owner for strings ?

IMG_0523.jpgIMG_0536.jpg

Congrats! Would love to hear it if you get a chance.

Congrats on a beauty! I had Acquila Carbonblacks on my last Clara and liked them quite a bit. On a prior Clara I had Acquila Reds that I thought sounded great. However, it seems to me they kept changing the string formula and I stopped using them.

congrats on your new Clara..i saw and played this uke while it was at The Ukulele Site Kaka'ako you have a great sounding uke with a perfect finish....the store does have some high end ukes that are not listed on their website..so always safe to call and check on certain models...

this Clara uke sounds good with a LowG...they all come from Blackbird with lowG and Oasis stings...but I can see why you may want to try other strings good luck finding the tone for you

Last edited: