What a difference a tuner makes!

Thumper

Reaction score
I'm new to the ukulele, but I've been a working musician for many years and thought I had pretty good ears, so I didn't buy a tuner when I ordered my ukulele. I figured I could just use my pitch pipe or the keyboards I have scattered around my house. But after about a week of plinking away happily on my trusty 50-dollar Lanikai, it seemed like my chords were sounding worse and worse. Each string would seem to be in tune when I checked them individually, but when I played chords, they were increasingly dissonant. I feared that my uke was a lemon.

Hoping for the best, I shopped around and ordered an Intelli IMT500 clip-on tuner from Amazon - wow, what a difference it has made! While my little soprano is definitely not a world-class instrument, it sounds a zillion percent better, because of the level of precision this tuner gives me. My own ears were only getting me in the ballpark of being in tune, and as I'm sure some of you know, that can be an awful big ballpark if you're not careful... :rolleyes:

The tuner will also make you aware of any intonation problems your instrument has; for instance, I'm finding the frets on my Lanikai are pretty well in tune, but they tend to be a wee bit sharp. I've got a bark cloth concert Flea on order (yes, I'm already infected with the highly contagious UAS), and I'm looking forward to its more precisely tuned fretboard.

Anyhoo - back to the tuner. You can pick these things up from between 15 to 20 bucks, and the way they clip on to the headstock is super handy (although they can rattle a bit if you start rocking out, so you may want to remove it for performing). All I can tell you is it's probably the best 20 bucks you can spend towards improving your sound. Two thumbs up!

I'm new to the ukulele. I feared that my uke was a lemon.

I think this is essential peace of kit for the new player, so many put down there new instruments and give up, just because they can't tune it.