Recommended reading?

Johni

Reaction score
Anybody have a favorite book to recommend?
I'm new to lutherie but hoping for a little more than "how to." I'd like to understand more theory and why things are done the way they are.

Thanks

This isn't going to be specifically very helpful, but read all you can on all kinds of strings instruments.

Books I recommend to everyone are
1- The Somogyi books (2 Vols)
2- The Gore/Gilet Books (2 vols)
3- Roy Courtnall - Making master guitars

Those 3 alone will set you back about $500

This 4th book is a GREAT buy for $25
4- John S. Bogdanovich - Classical Guitar Making: A Modern Approach to Traditional Design.

5- Graham Mcdonald is final drafting a modern Ukulele building book which will be the best one specifically on ukes. Not sure when It comes out, but i've read it and it's very good.

PS- Anyone who says that you can't learn and apply to ukes anything from guitar making (classical or steel string) is a fool.

Last edited:
I have the Somogyi books which are good but pricey. As a good starter on construction and methods I found Guitarmaking, tradition and technology by Cumpiano an easier read than the Bogdanovich book which I also have. Another book I found very interesting was Siminoff's Guide to Building Great Tone in Acoustic Stringed Instruments but this is not the easiest read.

I'm loving this thread.

What about Acoustic Guitar Making: How to make Tools, Templates, and Jigs by Brian Gary Forbes? I ran across it and the description really called out to me. Can anyone who's read it provide an opinion?

Then there's The Uke Book Illustrated: Design and Build the World's Coolest Ukulele (Fox Chapel Publishing) Graphic Novel Format Shows Every Step of Construction with 1,500 Beautiful Watercolor
by John Weissenrieder (Author), Sarah Greenbaum (Illustrator) due to be released next month. The concept of watercolor illustrations sounds cool, but I wonder if it would enhance or hinder using this as an actual reference book?