Flea vs. Fluke

ukuleletodd

Reaction score
Hi all. I know there have been threads about this.

I'm an elementary music teacher/guitarist/uke enthusiast. I have a few high-end guitars and a high-end Blackbird Farallon uke.

I want a Flea/Fluke for my music classroom and to play on the couch.

I have a really old Flea that I used to use in music class that's about 10 years old and pretty beat up. I REALLY like the shape and playability of the Flea.

So if I'm going to go all out and order all the extras: tuners, soundhole, grip strips, hard case, etc....should I order a tenor Fluke or Flea?

I already talked to them and they do sell tenor Fleas...they just don't advertise it.

I LOVE the shape of my Flea...and the Fluke is an unknown to me. Some say the sharp edges are not awesome.

Any advice would be appreciated. I have a high-end uke right now, so I'm not that interested in sound difference.

I do have to say, however, that my Flea sounds like a toy compared to the Blackbird...

Thanks.

Also...would there be any difference between a laminate and solid wood top? Enough difference to warrant $100 upgrade?

You can't go wrong with the Flea. As for solid or laminate, I have laminate and koa Flukes, and the koa sounds better, but individually, each sounds great.

Don't forget eBay. There are dealers that sell new instruments for reduced prices. I got a koa Fluke concert with the good case for $350. Definitely get the wooden fretboard (in my opinion). It looks better, is more durable, and it's easier to see the frets.

I know several people who have put clear plastic above and below the strings to avoid getting them scratched from strumming. The Magic Fluke sells it, or you can use LCD screen protectors.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fr...0.Xmagic+fluke.TRS0&_nkw=magic+fluke&_sacat=0

Also...would there be any difference between a laminate and solid wood top? Enough difference to warrant $100 upgrade?