Strings for Fanner electric baritone

Cat M

Reaction score
Hi all --

I just received my new Fanner electric baritone uke. So this is my first time dealing with steel strings.

My main uke is a custom Kimo acoustic-electric bari and I have settled on Galli UX780 for it, after trying quite a few different sets. But I know nothing about steel strings.

Fanner recommends standard electric guitar strings, 10s or 11s (apparently these numbers refer to the gauge of the high E), so I'm going to pick a few sets and experiment.

But... round, half-round, flat, coated, steel, nickel, chrome, balanced... huh?? D'Addario alone has dozens of choices.

I'll be playing some jazz and classic rock, mainly rhythm and chord melodies.

I know there are a lot of guitar + uke players around here so I thought maybe you folks could give me a few suggestions.

Thanks!

Tuning in to hear other answers. What's the scale length? I have a 19" baritone Konablaster that I have never changed the strings on. It's probably time. ;)
Was thinking about some flat or coated or something but I dunno

What did it come with?

Last edited:
19". It's the single-cutaway Pixelator model.

I'm not sure what it came with. Steel strings, lol. I should ask. I haven't had much chance to play with it yet due to preparing for an acoustic event, but first impressions are great.

FWIW, I found my old NUD post and mine came with DGBE tuning with "light" gauge steel strings - .011 .014 .022W .030W
Probably Ernie Ball or similar.

I'd love to hear a sound sample when/if you are able.

I'm also waiting to hear about kohanmike's bass build he is doing with Fanner.

Last edited:
The Fanner came with DGBE.

One thing I'm noticing right off the bat with my research is that it's cheaper to buy singles than sets, since you only need four and guitar sets are six.