K&K Pickup

K&K makes two different ukulele pickups as far as I can tell. (See products here: https://kksound.com/instruments/ukulele.php) I am by no means an expert in on the subject of pickups and amplification. In fact, for the most part I prefer a microphone to a pickup for ukuleles. I find most pickups to sound pretty same-y, if that makes sense? With that being said...

There has been exactly one ukulele pickup that I really liked, sound-wise. I recently saw Danielle Ate the Sandwich (her site here: http://danielleatethesandwich.com/) at Mighty Uke Day 9, in Lansing, MI (more info here: http://mightyukeday.com/). She was playing a Mya Moe (specifically this one: https://www.myamoeukuleles.com/uketracker.php?trackingNumber=1571&submit=Track) with a K&K Twinspot and it sounded incredible. It was like listening to an acoustic instrument in your own living room, rather than the sort of artificial sound that I hear from most pickups.

Some caveats: It may have been the instrument. This was a Mya Moe... It may have been the specific combination of that pickup with that instrument. She was using a pre-amp, so it may have been exactly how she had those settings adjusted.

I liked it so much, I had to talk to her after the show to find out more! I am in the queue for a Beansprout (https://www.thebeansprout.com/) later this year from Aaron Keim, who used to be at Mya Moe and did work on Danielle's instrument in fact. He uses K&K pickups, and I am considering getting him to install one if he uses the Twinspot. That's how much of an impression it left on me.

Last edited:
I have a K&K Aloha Twin in my Baritone. I like it a lot. In most cases you will need a pre-amp to get the benefit of its full potential.