Kala Resonator -vs- Sound Smith ??

jimmo

Reaction score
Hey folks, I'm Jim from Atlantic Canada.
I'm a newbie to ukes, with just one rather unplayed (as of yet) Lohanu Spruce & Zebrawood concert.

I'm not the best at detecting quality tone instruments, so my choice is really troublesome to me.

I know with resonators, most of the sound is from the cone, which means nothing to my ears (grin.)

I have two options for my income - the Kala Mahogany Resonator (the Brass cover plate model) or the Sound Smith Okoume Resonator.

Both are tenors, though the Kala connects to body at 14th fret, and Smith is at 12.

Sound Smith has nothing but amazing reviews.
Kala has mixed reviews but a trusted name.

Anyone who is familiar with both models, can I get some opinions?

Currently, either model will cost me the same amount.
Kala doesn't come with extras.
Sound Smith comes with a nice firm case and extras (which of course has nothing to do with the tone quality or build quality.).

I love that Sound Smith has personal, hands on quality control in the US before shipping out. And the owner is amazingly easy to contact -- even if the company isn't as known as Kala (which is sometimes a positive.)

My main playing interests involve fingerpicking, sea-shanty, gypsy, irish, mountain - if that makes a difference.

Again - ANY help would be appreciated as I anticipate that owning the Lohanu and one of the Resonators will be the max of my collection - so it's a big choice for me. As a distance only purchase, added pressure.

Thanks again for the amazing forum !

Jimmo

I dunno Jimmo,.....I'd really like a National or a Beltona and I'd certainly save for one, but they do cost some pocket change and then some.......a local store does have a few Nationals so I know where to go to try one out.....