"Twitchy" Kanile'a Tuners? Or is it the strings?

shanmoon

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Just purchased my third Kanile'a, a beautiful KPA Concert, a store demo uke for a year. I also have a premimium slothhead soprano, and a custom spruce top baritone. The baritone and soprano were originally setup by HMS. the Concert was a store demo model at a music store on Maui.

I love the sound of the new concert and it is a beauty to behold, but the tuners seem kind of "twitchy" (the baritone and soprano don''t seem to be so twitchy). What I mean is it is kind of hard to tune, particularly the E and A strings. I went back and forth tonight trying to get those strings in tune, I'd turn and it would be just a hair flat, tighten some more, still flat, tighten a hair more and suddently very sharp. It was quite a struggle to get it in tune.

Although I have fallen in love with ukes, and have assembled quite a collection, I am still very new to the nuances of the insturments and setup. Thoughts on the tuners? Could this just be because the strings are a year old? I was thinking about changing them anyway as I don't really care for Aquilla strings (I'm thinking about putting some Anuenue Black Water strings on it). This would be my first time changing strings on something with bridge pins, which has me a bit nervous. I would hate to damage such a beautiful ukulele!

Or could it be that I have spent so much time playing other ukes with UPT tuners (I LOVE those tuners) that I have gotten spoiled and am expecting too much from Grover tuners?

allfront.jpg

back45.jpg

front452.jpg

Attachments

• aujfidvvfkasourpqhro.jpg
    aujfidvvfkasourpqhro.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:
I would definitely change the strings instantly. Especially if it was a store demo. I think you probably know, living water/ black water/ worth strings should be on that beauty anyway. Those strings have probably seen their best days. Are the tuners smooth to turn like your other Kanile’a Ukes?