Breaking strings.

Rllink

Reaction score
People often mention strings breaking. I've been playing ukulele for five years, and I play my ukulele every day with few exceptions. I've never broken a string. What am I doing wrong? How do you break strings?

The last string that broke did so while my ukulele was hanging on the wall, while I was looking at it and admiring it from across the room. The A string just went ping and broke clean in half for no particular reason. Sometimes it's not playing it that does it.

I've been playing ukes for about twenty-five years and have only ever had one string breakage. I don't know what caused that one, but it seems to me that such events are rare indeed.

John Colter.

The only time I broke a string was as a beginner installing new strings and tightened one too much. In the 6 years I've been playing and the 19 ukes I've owned, I've never otherwise broken a string.

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly West near the Beverly Center
9 tenor cutaway ukes, 5 acoustic bass ukes, 11 solid body bass ukes, 9 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 34)

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children in hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
• Member The CC Strummers: YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/video, Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheCCStrummers

I've broken a string just once. I had tuned that particular uke (a soprano) up and down between GCEA and ADF#B a few times trying to decide which I preferred. I tuned it up to ADF#B once too often and the A string broke. The strings had been on a while too so I just changed them. That particular uke I eventually re homed.

Now I keep one soprano permanently in ADF#B. The others are all in GCEA though there's only one of those I play at all regularly, the Flea. The other two I have are just cheapie beaters.