Average Life Expectancy of a String, and other questions...

ukulelebadass

Reaction score
In perusing the forums here I have noted that there are a large number of strings devoted to strings. Questions such as what are the best kind of strings, what strings should I use on my (insert brand or size of ukulele here), what type of strings should I use if I am a beginner, et al, seem to abound in many of the forums here. This got me to wondering about what criteria all of you ukers are using to make such decisions.

I tend to base my preferences on a combination of three criteria:

1. Playability- This has mostly to do with tension and gauge, how the strings feel under my fingers when I am playing, how hard I have to push to get clear notes. I tend to prefer lighter tension strings with a smaller gauge.

2. Sound- Clearly, what the instrument sounds like with the strings, but also how quickly they keep in tune. More specifically do they sound good when lightly finger picked and also when plugged in and hammering away with a pick.

3. Longevity- How long will these strings last being played daily under my admittedly heavy handed strumming, and will they break? I prefer my strings to last between three weeks and a month.

In a recent conversation with another uker they were taken aback to learn that I should change my strings that frequently. I said that I sometimes feel guilty waiting that long as I frequently continue playing after I have worn through the outside of my wound strings at the frets.

My interest in this topic is further peaked today as I notice that the set of Aquila Nylgut's which I installed about a week ago on my baritone, Mr. Tanner, have already worn through the outside wrapping on the wound strings at most of the top frets and are actually beginning to un-ravel in places. I am totally blown away by this because Aquila claims to manufacturer a "premium" string.