Off Grid Amp Solutions?

Dr.Ukenstein

Reaction score
As a bass and guitar plucker and now solid body uke ubee, I have used many means to amplify my instruments beyond plugging into a fixed electrical outlet. Gas generators are noisy and defeat the whole non-polluting concept. Inverters have/had an annoying 60 cycle hum and require lugging a heavy battery around. The Crate Bass Buss 50 was a bust. I do have 2 Crate Tx30's that work well for guitar not bass but have very limited tonal spectrum. My present solution is the rig that I hope to post a pic of. Forgive the clarity of the photo. I am an impressionistic photographer. Is there a better solution to power a 12" to 15" speaker cabinet off grid? Thanks for previous solutions from past requests. Dr. U.

Attachments

• SUNP0637.jpg
    SUNP0637.jpg
    95.5 KB · Views: 47
This may not seem like much but for the price and simplicity it may suit your needs. I bought one for bass and it is loud enough for living room jamming with acoustic guitars. The other advantage is that is is a small PA so you can put a mic and/or guitar through it as well. For bass the speaker is not great but with light playing it will loosen up.

https://peavey.com/products/index.cfm/item/705/93630/

Bob

Thanks, Bob, I did not know Peavey had a portable rig for buskers. Certainly not enough power (10 watts on battery) or speaker size for my needs (ubass + bari-tenor) but might work fine around a campfire. Price is right. Adding this to the potential portable category for my fellow ukers. Again, Thank You for your new information.

Yes, Brad. I can now add the Vox DA5 and Carvin S400D to my inventory of potential portable amp/speaker combos. So far, I am sticking with my rig but checking if there was something better for my applications. Thanks for the info.

Last edited: