New Project

Jerryc41

Reaction score
The problem is that I'm not an artist or a painter, but I want to paint autumn leaves on a Fluke. I've played around with drawing leaves, with little success. Today, I'm going to my weekly painting session (Yes, a non-painter going to weekly painting), and I hope to get some help from the instructor and others.

The first challenge will be drawing something that looks like an array of leaves. The second challenge will be applying paint. If I mess it up, I can always sand it and start over. I'll lt you know how it turns out.

I bought one painted Fluke, and I had a friend paint a scene on another. Now it's my turn.

Good luck with that, Autumn leaves always come in various shades, I doubt it will be easy. :)

(Take some photos as a reminder of how they should look.)

Good luck with that, Autumn leaves always come in various shades, I doubt it will be easy. :)

(Take some photos as a reminder of how they should look.)

I got some good ideas at painting today. I gave the Fluke two coast of gesso as a base. They suggested pressing artificial leaves into paint or block-printing ink. Then I would press the leaves onto the uke. That's worth a try. I have leaves and ink arriving from Amazon on Wednesday.

They know that I have two painted Flukes, and now this one, so they asked how many ukes I have. I hesitated, and then I told them I had seventy-one. They suggested that I bring a few in to show them the different types. I might do that next week.

what type of paint do you use on a uke -- acrylic, water-based, etc.?

what type of paint do you use on a uke -- acrylic, water-based, etc.?