Do's and Don'ts of playing in the sun

specialmike

Reaction score
So I was playing the other day in the sun and I found it extraordinarily enjoyable. I live in GA, so the heat from the sun was immense, but the environment I play in is always humid and stuffy. :eek:
Considering that those two conditions are ideal for a Koa Tree, does it still follow good ukulele practice to allow the ukulele to be put in that condition. I read a thing on G-String Ukulele website that says different and stated that you should not keep your ukulele in the sun for more than two minutes. I find that hard to believe, considering that the ukulele's state of origin is known for high humidity, immense sunlight, and uncomfortable weather.

Any ideas?

(If this is a re-post, I apologize in advance, I couldn't find the older post)

I'm no expert but i don't think it's great for your uke to be in extremely humid conditions and intense sunlight for extended periods of time. i know hot/dry weather can cause cracks etc. over time so i'm guessing that hot/humid weather may also have some bad effects. glue could come loose on the bridge etc. i'm not sure for certain but no doubt someone more knowledgable will be here to answer in depth for you soon!

When we first got our pono's we read voraciously and learned that we should play it in a uv proof room, at a perfect 68F and 50%humidity, touched only by pure cotton items made from yarn spun by the virgin nuns of Guadalupe, never to be breathed upon, and certainly never to be looked at directly as the human gaze alone could cause damage.