I'm Not an Artist

Jerryc41

Reaction score
I bought some acrylic paint and painted a Flea last night. The good news is that I can sand it and paint over it. Painting looks so easy until you try it. If I ever get it to the point where it looks acceptable, I'll post pictures. I have several Flukes I would like to paint, but...

I've thought of alternatives to painting one, like printing on clear plastic or gluing images to the top, but I'd prefer paint. Theoretically, adding anything to the top would affect the sound, but it's not going to make enough difference that I would notice.

At least I got it all done in one night.

I haven't tried painting any instruments, but have done a bit of spraying.

Trick is, to spray a light dusted tack coat on the first coat. And then a wet coat a few minutes later. But not so wet that it runs.

Spraying from 6 to 8 inches away works for me. Start at the top, from off the work, making a nice even pass, left to right (or right to left), continuing past the work. And then work your way down, with each pass overlapping about the bottom third to one half of the pass above.

Shouldn't need more than two or three light coats.

And matte finish clearcoats are much more forgiving than gloss.

Last edited:
I haven't tried painting any instruments, but have done a bit of spraying.

Trick is, to spray a light dusted tack coat on the first coat. And then a wet coat a few minutes later. But not so wet that it runs.

Spraying from 6 to 8 inches away works for me. Start at the top, from off the work, making a nice even pass, left to right (or right to left), continuing past the work. And then work your way down, with each pass overlapping about the bottom third to one half of the pass above.

Shouldn't need more than two or three light coats.

And matte finish clearcoats are much more forgiving than gloss.

Did you use a spray can from the store or an airbrush?