Oscar Schmidt Tenor

adam2180

Reaction score
Hi I'm new in these parts. I have been lurking on this forum for a week and haven't read anything positive about Oscar Schmidt ukes. I have recently purchased a solid mahogany Tenor. It is a fantastic sounding instrument. It's not especially loud but the tone is wonderful. Its very well balanced, great for finger-picking or strumming. I'm not trying to advertise for them or anything but I really dig my Schmidt. Does anyone play one? Whats your opinion on them?

I've got a Oscar Schmidt concert. You're right... it's quiet (especially compared to my Flea). The tone is a bit thin, but not unpleasant.

The main problem with mine is the intonation. The nut's probably too high, and one of these days I'll get around to adjusting it.

I think the rep that OS is getting has a lot to do with that sort of thing: The hit-and-miss quality control. Sounds like you got one of the good ones.

JJ

I got the OU4 tenor for my birthday back in March. It's a spruce top w/ rosewood sides, so it's a little more twangy than mahogany making it a little louder. I love the abalone binding and around the sound hole, as well as the high gloss finish. For a little over a hundred bucks, I'd say it's beyond worth it!

yhst-78457497489010_2052_45171136

I got an OU-5 concert last month, and I've been playing it whenever I have the chance. It's a great little instrument, and the intonation is nearly perfect, as far as I can tell.

The intonation on my OU-240 is dead on. The sound is full with just a bit of brightness. I wouldn't say its quiet, its just not overly loud.

Moving to Uke Talk . . .

I've got a Oscar Schmidt concert. You're right... it's quiet (especially compared to my Flea). The tone is a bit thin, but not unpleasant.

The main problem with mine is the intonation. The nut's probably too high, and one of these days I'll get around to adjusting it.