My New Pono PTO-E Tenor Ukulele

pickerpete

Reaction score
My new Pono PTO-E Tenor Ukulele arrived yesterday. I had been exitedly following it's journey from Music Guy Mic's in Hawaii via UPS Tracking as it made its way to my home in Massachusetts. I have been a professional musician for well over 40 years but now I finally have a quality uke. I'm happy!

The uke was well packed and came nestled in a very high quality (Ko'olau) case that fit perfectly. The instrument itself is beautiful with nice mahogany grain and high gloss finish. There are no imperfections whatsoever that I can detect. The sound is lovely with a full and mellow mahogony sound. I do think that it is a bit muted due in part to the stock Ko'olau stings which I understand are not very bright and perhaps by the gloss finish that I suspect dampens the sound some. I do hope that it may open up with some playing. The intonation seems fine and the frets are quite comfortable.

The action is just about ideal. If it were much lower I think I'd be experiencing some fret buzz. There does seem to be some very faint buzz off the saddle. While the action is good the string tension seems to this player a bit stiff but nothing major.

The passive under saddle pickup works just fine. I pluged it into my Fender Delux and it was instantly transformed into The Uke of Doom.

So a few minor issues, I always expect to take a new instrument into a luthier to tweek it a bit. This will be no execption. I fully expect to spend many, many happy hours with my new uke.

Any thoughts about how I might tweek the action or the saddle buzz myself? Can you recommend a low G string set which will brighten the sound?

I'll try my hand at a formal review in a while after I've had a chance to really explore this uke.

Last edited:
strings

I like the Worth's Clear, medium tension for my low G. It is a non-wound string, and the Worth Clear tend to brighten the sound. I get my strings online
http://www.ukuleleworld.com/tenor/