Enable my UAS.

misterdub

Reaction score
Oh, I finally caught UAS.

I've been saving up for a new ukulele for a little while now. I've got one of the lower end Flea concerts and I've been wanting a tenor. Originally, I was saving up for the Kala KA-ASMT-C (solid mahogany w/ PU). But my wife said something to me the other night that made me pause and I've been questioning my soon-to-be purchase, she said "Are you sure you've been playing long enough to fully appreciate the sound of a solid wood instrument over a laminate?" Now, you might think she was trying to get me to spend less money but no, she thinks I should go with the Kala laminate tenor and baritone. Get two sizes, for the price of one and gain more experience with a different tuning at the same time. I've been playing for a few months now, play daily and really love it. Can someone who is still a relative newb appreciate a solid wood instrument or is it more important at this stage to get a feel for different sizes and tunings?

I'm really torn because I think she may have a point but we're not loaded and it'll be a while before I can save up enough to get the solid wood. Then again, I may find I prefer concerts and be happy I didn't spend a whole mess of money on a Tenor solid wood.

So, opinions? No music stores in my area carry Kala or any solid wood ukuleles (all laminates) so I'm relying and YouTube videos and UU. :)

There is a place in Arlington called Action Music that has a couple of Kanilea ukes. I haven't been there in a few months but thier site says they still have them. At least you could try out some quality ukes.

As for buying two less espensive ukulele over one "better" ukulele. You would get to try out some different sizes and might get a feel for which size you prefer. Then in the end you will probably want to upgrade to a solid uke and will have to save up for that.

You might think about a solid top instrument as a middle ground.