Is this any good?

jadedsurrealism

Reaction score
Hi,

I've never played a ukulele before, but I used to live in hawaii when I was a little girl and have always wanted to learn. So I bid on the cheapest uke on eBay and would like to know a little about what I'm getting into. It says its a Leolani from OMI International. Says he bought it about 4 years ago at a shop in Hawaii. Anything you could tell me about it would be greatly appreciated. Mind you, I'm a beginner, just looking to learn it and play a few songs at the backyard BBQ....

!BUWjKZg!2k~$(KGrHgoH-DMEjlLltmFiBKNHf+49hQ~~_35.JPG

Thanks!
~Misti

If the ukulele plays, and serves your purpose, and was the right price, then you did good! :D

But I am curious to know if it come in a cardboard box with a clear plastic cover, and secured to the box with twisties? If it did, they sell similar ukes all over Waikiki for $10. Many of these ukes don't use real ukulele strings as they are all the same black nylon fishing line, it's a matter of stretching and tightening them until you get close to GCEA. Once you get there, the friction tuners start slipping, but don't over tighten, as the bridge might pop off. The action on these ukes are usually very high. I don't want to put your uke down, but they are more a novelty item.

Yeah, that looks more like a Waikiki gift shop uke than a playable instrument. Leolani makes some playable ones too, but if you're looking for the cheapest good instrument possible, I'd check out this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/MAKALA-SPARKLE-...QQptZLHQ5fDefaultDomainQ5f0QQsalenotsupported

They come in lots of colors, too. The seller, musicguymic, gives them all a setup and intonation, and some good strings. They actually play and sound a lot better than you'd think!