Video help, please

MrsMeyerMusic

Reaction score
I'm not sure where to post this and I haven't found the info elsewhere, so if it gets moved, so be it.

I am new to the youtube recording scene. What do you guys use to edit your videos? How do I do one where I am playing/singing more than one part at a time?

I am sorry to say I have no easy answer to you on my part.
I use Sony vegas to capture picture, and I use cubase (music program) to record the sound. Then I dubb the sound to the picture.
When singing more then one part at the time I pass the question to some other member. But I would just record different soundtracks in cubase I guess.

Did it make sense? I guess not. :)

What kind of computer? If you have an iMac try garage band or iMovies. The new iLife09 is supposed to let you do a split screen with garage band and iMovie. THat's the sum total of my knowledge. Good luck. You and LonnaB will beat me to a video.

We have Audacity. So basically people record the other parts on that and turn that on in the background while they do the other part? (if that makes sense...)

We have Audacity. So basically people record the other parts on that and turn that on in the background while they do the other part? (if that makes sense...)

The first take should be your "backbone." All other parts are played along with the backbone.

You should wear headphones for each overdub (layer). Doing so prevents audio bleed from one track to another.

You video yourself playing each part, and then edit the all the takes together.

I'm not sure what video software you're going to be using. If it allows separate video and audio tracks, you should have your finished audio, overdubs and all, as a separate audio track.

Your video track should just be video.

It's not too hard. The tedious part is making sure the videos line up with the audio. If you have any specific questions, let us know.

Here's where I'm at: