PDA

View Full Version : D chord

sophie358
06-20-2009, 03:11 AM
I'm just starting out with the ukulele. I can play a couple of songs but am struggling the the D chord on two accounts:

First, different websites for songs are showing me different finger placements for the chord. Some 2220 and some 2224. Which is correct?

Second, i find that when i play the chord the strings are somewhat muted instead of the nice rich sound from an easier chord. Am i pressing too hard? Not pressing hard enough? Or will it just get nicer sounding wht practice?

Thanks!

ukeshale
06-20-2009, 04:42 AM
I'm just starting out with the ukulele. I can play a couple of songs but am struggling the the D chord on two accounts:

First, different websites for songs are showing me different finger placements for the chord. Some 2220 and some 2224. Which is correct?

Second, i find that when i play the chord the strings are somewhat muted instead of the nice rich sound from an easier chord. Am i pressing too hard? Not pressing hard enough? Or will it just get nicer sounding wht practice?

Thanks!

the most common fingering is 2220. it sounds like you're not pressing hard enough or you're possibly muting some of the other strings with some of your fingers. you'll be fine in time! practice fixes everything. use the 'search' function up top there if you ever have trouble with chord fingerings and there's a chance someone may have posted some pictures or demo videos to help you out in a previous thread :D happy playing!

Kanaka916
06-20-2009, 04:49 AM
Both are correct. Here's a handy little tool (http://www.sheep-entertainment.nl/ukulele/index.html) to assist you. As far as the muted sound from the chords, you'll probably need to apply a little more pressure to the strings and that comes with practice.

seeso
06-20-2009, 04:55 AM

2224 is incorrect. 2224 is a Dmaj7. The closest correct fingering for a D chord would be 2225.