Those of You Who Don't Play With/For Others

buddhuu

Super Moderator (Retired)
Reaction score
Deach and Tuscadero (individually, not as a duo... YET!) are getting into the playing-in-front-of-an-audience thing, and Baron did his busking a while back. That is all SO great. :D

Those of you who don't yet play either with, or for, other people, what is stopping you? That's not a rhetorical question intended to imply that you're doing something wrong. It's my genuine curiosity wondering if you feel you need more practice, or if you find it hard to locate receptive venues, or if you have difficulty finding musicians to jam with...

What are the biggest hurdles you'll need to overcome before you can jam/busk/perform?

Maybe you've no desire to play except to strum happily in your bedroom/sitting room/yard.

Nosy sod, ain't I? :eek:

I just started playing with a jazz/rock band consisting of drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard. Prior to that, I played mostly by myself at home.

What got me out was recognizing that I wanted to get better at playing music. Lessons had gotten to the point where me and the guy would sit, play, and sing a bit. Then come back next week and do it again.

The band first got together late last year. They were meeting at the same place I was taking lessons and one of them asked me sit in and strum some rhythms with them.

I joined them a couple of months ago and while I'm still "just a strummer" I am definitely part of the band and have learned more about music, song structure, timing, and a host of other things. All because I stepped up when the opportunity presented itself.

We are the house band at the Guitar Merchant and play for friendly crowds at recitals and small parties. I sing (if you want to call it that), strum, and help fill the sound. It's a blast!

I realy wanna jam with others, but I don't realy know any other musicans to jam with :p
On the busking matter, I feel I need more practice:p