Geared tuner or Friction Tuner?

Island_Uke

Reaction score
I was wondering which one would you guys recommened because I want to buy a Mainland Mahogany Concert Ukulele and it gave me the option of Friction or Geared tuner. I just want to know which is better.

Island_Uke

Welcome to UU.

First, let me say that I am no expert. That being said, I don't think one type of tuner is "better" than the other. However, if you are a beginner (or even professional), geared tuners are said to be easier to deal with. They tend to be more precise, easier to get into and hold tune, and they are less sensitive. Friction tuners, on the other hand, are more traditional on the ukulele, but can be a pain to work with. Overall, it's a matter of personal preference. Although, if you want my advice, you will have a lot less stress opting for the geared tuners.

On my Mainland pineapple I got gold geared with mother of pearl buttons... SO purdy. :love:

With friction tuners, the post for the string is directly connected to the tuning peg - so it's a 1:1 ratio. It doesn't take much turning at all to adjust the tuning on an ukulele, so it can be trick to twist the peg just a tiny bit, which is why it's challenging for a beginner. Personally, I really dislike friction tuners...

Geared tuners connect the peg to the post via a gear - in most cases at a 14:1 ratio, meaning it takes 14 turns of the knob to equal one turn of the string post. This gives you a lot of precision when tuning, and the gears often (but not always) make things run a bit smoother. On the other hand, changing strings can be a real pain, because you have to turn, turn, turn the peg to wind the string on - you can buy string winders, sure, but friction tuners are a lot quicker to string up.

It all comes down to personal preference - I don't like friction and do like geared - but the next guy down the line may turn his nose up at the gears...