First Uke? (Sorry!)

12imnew

Reaction score
I apologise 'cause I know there are a lot of posts like this, and I have read many, but am still unsure.

I play guitar (self-taught for about 2 years) and would like also to play uke (I hear it's quite addictive!) I am making the assumption that, after the initial difficulties of picking up a new instrument, uke should be fairly simple as I already play guitar?

I would like:
A concert sized uke
Made of solid wood
A fairly low price (my budget is just under £200 (roughly $300?) but preferably keeping at around £150/$250)

Also, it does matter to me (to some extent) how the uke looks. I don't want to buy an instrument that I don't like the look of.

I am tempted by the Bushman Jenny Concert which is near the top of my price range (but I know you get what you pay for). I like how it looks and it has what I want, but I'm seeing mixed reviews on Bushman, which is putting me off (I can only buy online, no stores anywhere near me have an even semi-decent selection of ukes, so no try before you buy for me). If I buy this uke, I would buy through Bushman, which also worries me. I can find no email address to contact them and apparently their customer service is bad. Being in the UK, I worry that should there be problems with my order it would be difficult to sort.

Another which I am looking at is http://www.eaglemusicshop.com/details1.asp/ProductID/5673/sid/23/name/kahuna-mahog-concert.htm
which appears to be fairly similar to the Jenny? But I don't know anything about ukes/what brands are good etc.

Sorry for the length of my post!
I'd appreciate any information that may help me.
Thanks!