Spanish heel

thistle3585

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to ukes but not to building instruments. Anyone build using a spanish heel? Any pro's or cons for using this on a tenor uke? Would the neck joint affect the "perceived value" of an instrument one way or another?

andrew

My Kala is made with a Spanish heel. From what I understand of Uke/Guitar construction, it's a much more solid construction method which is the primary reason I bought this particular model.

If it affects the perceived value at all, I would imagine the value would go up, not down.

Spanish heels are used almost exclusively on classical guitars, which have been made for decades. I'm not going to use one on my first uke, but I definately will tackle it on my second. The Cumpiano book on guitar building is a good source for this I believe.

There are advantages with building bolt on if you will route for binding. Also sanding the body is a bit easier without the neck. Apart from that spanish heels are easy and fun! Check my blog, I build tenors with sp heel and sopranos bolt on.

www.argapa.blogspot.com

Good luck!

Sven

Thanks I appreciate it. I've done a bit of research on the spanish heel and noticed several places where it says the sides are "wedged" into the heel versus being glued into the heel. Any thoughts on securing the sides? Also, I do not have a saw blade thin enough to match the sides, so I thought about cutting it using my existing blade and shimming the difference. Is there a problem with that approach. Finally, will this method work on a uke with a cutaway?

Andrew

Depends of course on the cutaway style. Will you have a "round" one the side will meet the heel at a right angle and it should be a normal spanish heel. A sharper cutaway (florentine??) would maybe be different.