Greetings (and questions, of course) from Ohio!

CDysert75

Reaction score
Good afternoon musicians and enthusiasts - I am a newbie with a few questions for the ukulele world.

Last summer I purchased a vintage Kamaka concert uke at a local garage sale. I have absolutely fallen in love with the instrument and it has grown to be one of my most cherished possessions. The look and sound is amazing and most importantly, it has done great things for my musical direction. However, it has wreaked havoc on the historically curious portion of my mind. I have searched all over the internet to find out exactly what I have landed but my search has been largely fruitless.

The instrument is dated 'Dec 10 1971' and has a small intricately carved Tiki man on the headstock just above the Kamaka logo. That adornment on the headstock is what immediately caught my eye and ultimately led me to buy it. At the time, I assumed that it was a cheap entry-level instrument but I've since learned to appreciate the Kamaka namesake and their booming market. In all of my searching, I've not been able to find any information regarding the above description with the exception of this website:

http://web.me.com/syacavone/Site/Kamaka_Ukulele_(カマカ・ウクレレ・7).html#5

This is the EXACT instrument that I have and I am fairly certain that it is of a rare breed but I was wondering if anyone here could validate those suspicions or offer any direction or information as to this particular model's identity/market value.

Like I said, this is one of my prized possessions so I'm not looking to sell it - basically, I just need to know whether or not it is something that I need to insure.

I apologize for joining the forum for such selfish purposes but after looking around the site, it is apparent that you all know your stuff and I can't wait to join your ranks!

Anywho, thanks in advance from Northwestern Ohio - I look forward to meeting everyone and hopefully reading your replies!

Cody