Recommendation on Concert Size

jazzuke

Reaction score
Hello All,
New to this forum...I've been playing uke for about 10 years. Have a couple of hand-made sopranos and want to add a concert size to my arsenal.

I've narrowed my choices down to Kanilea, Koaloha, Tony Graziano, Collings (have a guitar he made I'm tremendously fond of).

Looking for something with very good action, complex sound, and also very nice craftsmanship, without too much flash....the Moore Bettah (Not So Basic Uke) also has caught my eye.

Being in KY, not exactly the hotbed of uke art...I thought I'd reach out here and see if anyone has strong opinions, recommendations, thoughts.

Anthony

I can't compare as I only have a KoAloha out of that bunch, BUT those ukuleles have everything you want. AND their customer service is fantastic! Just saying......

I have a Moore Bettah Not So Basic Concert uke and I cannot reccomend getting one enough. Chuck makes some superb ukes and sends updates about progress. I really cannot compare it to anything else having not played that many other ukes but man oh man, you would not be disappointed.

I'm saving my pennies for a Kepasa ukulele, made by Kevin Crossett. I tried a uke he had on display at the Musuem of Making Music a while back, and it was beautifully made, with low action, a compensated bridge, a real vvintage feel, and most of all, an absolutely scrumptious tone that would fabulous for Tin Pan Alley, Jazz and fingerpicking. No wonder players like Craig Robertson & MarkOcchionero (see his youtube jazzukes videos) have Kepasa ukes.

http://kepasaukulele.com/index.htm

I have the Kanile'a out of that bunch and it is fantastic. Love it. Workmanship is first rate, the tone is stunning.

Of course, I have lusted after Chuck Moore's ukes ever since I first saw them...if you can get a not-so-basic that would probably get my vote. If not, I vote Kanile'a.