Pono Ohai wood - any info?

clayton56

Reaction score
Anybody try the new Pono Ohai wood ukes yet?

I called and got a phone audition and liked the sound (sounded Oriental, like a Koto maybe, but that's not the best audition).

Anyway, curious for any reports.

Several people have posted threads regarding their ohio :p (my neighbors pronunciation) wood Ponos.

I have the tenor with the pickup. It sure is pretty, except for a bit of excess glue/finish on the neck. It's really quiet with the stock strings. It sounds ok. It's on the heavy side too. Plugged in, it sounds really nice. For the price, I'd get a Kala, a couple pizzas and some beer instead.

I love mine -- with the caveat that I'm a newbie and don't have a lot to compare it to. It is somewhat quiet with the Ko'olau strings. I replaced them with Pro Artes because I did not like the wound C. It might be a touch louder, very warm and complex in tone, increasingly so as the days go by. It seems very well put together and finished. I was also considering a Kala or an Ohana in this price range; the strong warranty and the truss rod helped decide it for me, because this is something I'd like to have for a long, long time. And I think the wood is lovely on some of them.

i had one for a second and then returned it. it's really beautiful to look at but the soundboard was a little on the thick side. good price for a solid instrument but not nearly as nice as the pono solid mahogany series.

Third Ohai Tenor Review