my trip to the music store

Dirka

Reaction score
my trips to the music store

I got a call today, it was the guy from Zoundhouse. He told me my new uke had just come in. I jumped on my bike and rushed over there. They unboxed it for me. First I was surprised how huge that thing was (Fender Hau'oli Tenor). I kinda started having second thoughts, because I did not think I'd be comfortable with the size. For crying out lout, it didn't even fit in my biggest messenger bag without the head poking out.

Back home I unpacked it, and the first thing I noticed was that I really liked how very light the headstock was. I took off the crappy GHS strings and put on some Aquila concerts (I had those lying around). In the process of restringing I also noticed that having all four tuners pointing up makes for a super convenient tuning. The tuners themselves look and feel very high quality.

I prestretched the strings a little, and then I started playing around on it. At first the bigger fretboard was a little awkward, but that went away fairly quick. The sound is nice and mellow. I like how the uke's voice is much more complex than that of the Makala. Weirdly enough the latter is way louder. Might have to do something with the concert strings. I'll change them when they're worn out.

All in all I'm a very happy uker. Just strumming basic chords on the new uke (still needs a name) makes me all tingly inside. More space on the fretboard is also better for my big hands. Because I'm clumsy I already put some little scratches on the finish, so I guess it's good I didn't get a solid right away. I'll post some pictures and maybe a vid later, for now I've got a presentation to prepare (which I probably won't finish in time because I'll be playing the uke).

Peace,
Dirka. :shaka:

PS: I also played an all solid Ortega Concert at the shop and I didn't like it at all. It sounded very thin and weak. Coulda been a case of crappy strings tho.

Last edited: