PDA

View Full Version : New to Uke's and the USA!

Melissa82
07-09-2009, 02:38 PM
Hi everyone

I'm new to Uke's and looking to buy one right now. I'm deciding between the Kala KA-T or Kala KA-ST and maybe a concert or soprano because of maybe a lower price and just because I can never seem to make up my mind, lol.

A little about me... I've been around music all my life. My dad was a drummer until I was about 16. I've been introduced to guitars when I was 13 (but didn't stick with it cuz I was a young teen, ignorant and took my teachers jokes about me not practicing too seriously and quit). Then, when I tried to pick it up at 18 (after I had played the sax in school band for a few years) my bro decided he would steal the family guitar and never let me use it.... so here I am, 27 trying to find an instrument to learn (I bought a $350 Yamaha keyboard but never touched it...). I was thinking of guitar but discovered the uke's sound and I think I'm love. I'm currently living in Savannah, GA, a far ways from home in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. I just moved here in Jan cuz I got married to a US Army soldier and WOW it's different here!

Anyways, I just wanted to say hi and I'm looking forward to my first uke, if I can ever decided which to get! :music:

specialmike
07-09-2009, 02:42 PM
Welcome to UU Melissa! I know you'll have a good time here.

More importantly, welcome to the USA! And even more importantly, welcome to Georgia! I live in Athens, GA. I'm currently attending UGA for college. I hope you enjoy your stay :)

BrotherUke
07-09-2009, 02:43 PM
Hi Melissa
Welcome! I've only been here a short time but I love the ukulele and there are some wonderful people here that will help you love it even more. Don't wait just buy the uke that speaks to you. I can almost guarantee that there will be more to follow... sooner than you think.... trust me!

uke552
07-09-2009, 02:49 PM