PDA

View Full Version : Help? How to read.. whatever these are.

Verstand
07-09-2009, 07:25 PM
Ok so I'm new to ukulele and plucked strings in general. Being a noob, I can hide under this title and not feel too bad about asking:

I often see lyrics with letters above them. IE:

[A Bm D Gsus4 E
[These are some lyrics. I'm writing to Still Alive.
C A F7sus4 G
Even though I don't understand how to use them,
Em F C D7
I'm writing random letters above.
Bm D E A ]
Let's just hope no one tries to play it.]

Do you like my song? I wrote it to the tune of still alive :3

Anyways, how I am supposed to use this? I imagine that these are chords, but still, that doesn't help much either. Then all I know is around that time I need to hold a G chord or whatever.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

sukie
07-09-2009, 07:50 PM
All I know is that those are the chords for the song. I feally dislike those kinds of "tabs" because you really need to know the song to play the chords properly. Check on You Tube for a version of the song so you'll know what it sounds like. Good luck

ukantor
07-09-2009, 08:53 PM
It simply tells you what chord to play, and when to play it. Strum with a steady rhythm holding down a chord until you get to the point where the next chord is indicated, then change and continue strumming that chord until it's time to change to the next one. Start with familiar songs which use only two or three chords, and sing or hum or whistle the melody. The uke provides an accompaniment. If you wish to play the melody on your uke, it requires a completely different approach.

Strumming and singing is a good place to start.

John Colter.

ps. The above is NOT tab. It is a chords & lyrics sheet. Tab. is short for tabulature, and is quite different.

Myala509
07-09-2009, 09:26 PM
Chord sheets are junk. They do not show you the timing at all. Just give you an approximate to when you change chords.

Tabs and sheet music are way better.

ahreeka
07-09-2009, 09:27 PM